Croughton Parish Council

Serving the people of Croughton

Clerk: Mrs Ann Le Druillenec
Croughton Village Hall
Wheelers Rise, Croughton
Northamptonshire NN13 5ND

Tel: 01869 819905

Who we are & what we do

A Parish Council is the lowest tier of local government. It is a corporate body and a creature of statute. It has certain duties to carry out and may choose to exercise certain powers. It must not act ultra vires.

Croughton Parish Council consists of nine voluntary Councillors who are elected for a four-year term of office to serve and administer for the needs of the residents of Croughton. When a vacancy occurs, called a casual vacancy, a new member is co-opted until the next local elections. At the local elections held in May 2015 six Councillors were elected unopposed. Three of the 9 seats were not filled. During the year Mike Tadman and Rodger James were co-opted to serve on the Parish Council, followed in July 2016 by Vee Griffiths. The Parish Council is now operating at full capacity.

Individuals wishing to take on take on an interesting varied and responsible role as a Member of Croughton Parish Council are invited to contact the Clerk for further information. You must be 18 years of age and satisfy certain electoral qualifications. Before taking their seat, Members sign a Declaration of Acceptance of Office. They then have 18 days to complete a Register of Interests which is submitted to the Monitoring Officer at South Northamptonshire Council and published on the website. Members are expected to act in accordance with the Council's adopted Code of Conduct.

The next local elections Parish Council will take place in May 2019.

The Council currently meets at Croughton Village Hall, Wheelers Drive, Croughton, Northants, NN13 5ND.

Croughton village is one of three villages which make up Littlebrook Ward in South Northamptonshire District. The other two are Aynho and Evenley.