Croughton Parish Council

Serving the people of Croughton

Clerk: Mrs Ann Le Druillenec
Croughton Village Hall
Wheelers Rise, Croughton
Northamptonshire NN13 5ND

Tel: 01869 819905

Future Northants

Consultation on the Re-organisation of Local Government in Northamptonshire

The extent of the county council's financial problems, and their causes, have led the Government to direct a major change. The Best Value inspectors believe: "a new start is required for the residents of Northamptonshire".

Following the Government's invitation and in the light of its criteria, the eight Northamptonshire councils are jointly considering a proposal where the current two-tier system of eight councils would be replaced by two unitary councils which would have responsibility for all council services in their respective areas.

The 2 new unitary councils would be:

1. WEST NORTHANTS UNITARY COUNCIL Comprising the areas covered currently by Daventry, Northampton and South Northamptonshire councils

2. NORTH NORTHANTS UNITARY COUNCIL Comprising the areas covered currently by East Northamptonshire, Corby, Kettering and Wellingborough councils

The existing county council and the seven borough/district councils would be abolished to be replaced by the two new unitary councils in April 2020.

Residents are encouraged to respond to the consultation online at

The consultation is open until noon on 22nd July 2018

Posted: Wed, 27 Jun 2018 14:27 by Ann Le Druillenec

Tags: Community