Croughton Parish Council

Serving the people of Croughton

Clerk: Mrs Ann Le Druillenec
Croughton Village Hall
Wheelers Rise, Croughton
Northamptonshire NN13 5ND

Tel: 01869 819905

Croughton Parish Council provides YOUR local services. We strive to make Croughton a better place to live, work and visit. Our website includes a wealth of information about how we conduct business and what we do. Find local groups and businesses in our community directory. Use the search or browse the site to find whatever you are looking for. If you can't find what you want or would like to recommend any improvements to our website then please contact us.

Latest News

Budget 2019/2020:

Posted: Mon, 11 Feb 2019 12:59 by Trevor Davies

As indicated in last month's Croughton News the Parish Council would need to increase the Budget for 2019/2020. This would have implications for the Precept especially as the Council Tax Base figure for next year was only estimated to be 0.3% greater than for 2018/2019. At its meeting on 14th January 2019 the Council resolved to draw upon £1,600 of its reserves in order to finance the Budget of £29,963 and to set a Precept of £25,293. Compared with 2018/2019 this is an increase of £2,268 in the Precept and will result in an estimated 9.5% increase in Council Tax.

Footway Lighting

Posted: Mon, 11 Feb 2019 12:40 by Trevor Davies

Thank you to residents for reporting that the footway light (No. 50) near the seat on the High Street at the junction of Brackley Road, was out of order. Efforts by our Lighting Contractor to remedy the fault have proved unsuccessful and the light will need to be replaced. Production of like for like replacements will cease in the summer and the Parish Council has commenced budgeting for the time when the stockpiled supplies were used up. Until recently the alternative was to install an LED conversion kit in compatible lights. However, a new LED design to replace the whole unit has recently become available and would seem to be a better option than installing the conversion kit in the existing old shell. More »

Once our Lighting Contractor has tried and tested the new design and is confident about its installation, it will be trialled in Lamp No. 50 on a temporary basis. The Parish Council will initially pay for the new overhead electrical connection, new pole bracket and service box at a cost of £390 + vat. » Less

Proposed Re-organisation of local government in Northamptonshire:

Posted: Mon, 11 Feb 2019 12:39 by Trevor Davies

The Government's consultation on the proposed replacement of not only the County Council but also the seven existing District Councils (including South Northamptonshire Council) with two new unitary councils has ended. A decision is expected at the beginning of April. One effect of this process has been for the Government to bring an Order before Parliament to defer local elections to May 2020